*New Member* 1982 280GE, 67,000 miles from new. needing slight resto and good service

7 replies [Last post]
simonmalster.wss
simonmalster.wss's picture
GWOA Groups: Members

Hi Forum,
I am newbie here, looking forward to posting some queries for my new baby"Rupert"
Just picked it up last week down south in Swindon, travelled 235miles in a trip, and cleaned out the injectors slighlty, had 80mph for last 70miles, seems solid, just a couple of smaller rust patches on bodywork, needing to get a A1 restoration done though, who do you guys recommend for bodywork/paint?

I want to keep 'Rupert' as original as possible (Rupert - My Wives name for him, as check cloth interior is the same as Rupert bears trousers!) as this was a one owner car for last 29yrs...and 2nd for 6months...

Some items.
New rubber headlamp surrounds without the screw holes for the headlamp protection grille
Heater front dash cover (only holes are there, as it has obviously been replaced earlier in its life.
New exhaust - prefer stainless one to last me out! 

Just start of list...

Also do you know if later rear discs work instead of adjustable drums, as so far brakes seem very....very spongy! is this normal...

Pistonhead
Pistonhead's picture
GWOA Groups: Committee, Members
Re: *New Member* 1982 280GE, 67,000 miles from new. needing ...

Hello simonmalster.wss,

Welcome to the GWOA and the forum.  I think it is about time we, as club had an initiation of sorts, wonder what deeds the members would suggest?  Washing your new "G" in the nude or for modisty, the x-rated parts covered in clover leaf, or stingy nettles - Ouch!;  no, let's not go there.  Welcome, any way.

You have not mentioned what part of the country you are from, it may help some one close to your area with a good and trusted body shop suggestion.